PILATES: Lori Kirwan


Lori Kirwan, photo by Andrei Kalamkarov

Going back 6 weeks, I knew nothing about Pilates, now I don’t think I can survive without it. The wonderful, all-over inner body pain that you get just after one Pilates class is enough to know that it truly works. Of course, an educated, personable and pleasantly tough instructor is a must. As per my Power Yoga obsession, LORI KIRWAN is an ideal Pilates instructor (actually she’s an ideal instructor period). Lori invited me to take one class with her to see if I’d be interested in coming back. I seriously could not pass on an opportunity like that! Prior to my first Pilates class, Lori  sent me an article she wrote on the benefits of Pilates . Although the reading did help to understand the history and gave me an overall understanding of Pilates, what my body went through an hour of my very first class is tough to describe. For someone who exercises on regular basis, I was very sore for 3 days after the class.

Although Pilates frenzy has calmed down in the last couple of years, I’m a firm believer that the inner core body strength is one of the main components to life’s longevity, energy and happiness.

If you’re in Tdot and are interested in taking any of Lori’s classes, visit her web-site , POOL OF SWEAT, and e-mail her.  Also check out my post on Lori’s Power Yoga too.

* Photo: http://photos.andreikalamkarov.com/v/people/model/IMG_8267_sm_001.jpg.html

What's on your mind?

