MUSICAL ANARCHY: Rye Rye, Sleigh Bells, Die Antwoord


Rye Rye

If you’ve been disappointed with current musical talent, you’re not the only one. Actually, there is talent in the popular music culture, however artists tend to go for the money – something quick, catchy with little lyrical or musical thought put into it. Can I blame them? Not really, but I still crave innovation since my iPod is starting to sound the same. At this time, I find that going old-school, all the way to the 1980’s and the ‘90’s (it is old school for me) is exciting. Being bored with music, I found a couple of up and coming (I hope) artists that I can’t get enough of. They’re all quite different but the same in a way that they’re lyrically intelligent, musically interesting and artists of mixin’ it up. I also love that they have a certain ‘old-school’ feel to them.

  1. Rye Rye – you have to check this girl out! She actually signed with M.I.A’s label. She’s an amazing dancer and an even better rapper. Baltimore’s got talent. No CD yet but some songs can be downloaded on itunes.
  2. Sleigh Bells – can it get any better than punk, dance, rock n roll, and a great voice put together in a box, wrapped with a big pink bow on top and put under a Christmas tree? Sleigh Bells are as great as an amazing Christmas gift. Their CD, Treats, got rave reviews.
  3. Die Antwoord – this is the most musically and lyrically challenging band/ artist in my selection. The South African rap/ hip-hop group can easily be misunderstood due to their… everything, but you have to give them a chance. They do have a CD out, $O$, which can be complimentary downloaded off of their web-site (http://www.dieantwoord.com/). I have no idea what they’re saying because of the Cape Town slang but it’s so entertaining!

Die Antwoord

What's on your mind?

