UNCLE BETTY’S: a diner with a twist


UNCLE BETTY’S DINER is one of my favourite, laid-back restaurants it Toronto for three reasons:

  1. The classic diner menu has a unique and contemporary twist
  2. The donuts are home-made, and the traditional donut is only 120 calories
  3. The atmosphere is fun, family-friendly, and the service, despite what many reviews say, is good. (It’s a diner, not a 5-star restaurant!) Plus, the servers are customer focused, polite and memorable.

I have been to UNCLE BETTY’S for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. My favourite part of every meal is, of course, the dessert. Having had a lot of desserts in my life and being somewhat of a sweet-tooth maniac, I profess that the chef has absolutely perfected the home-made Twink ‘EH, donut and milkshake recipes. Every time I visit, I am treated to a donut special that in the past included: chocolate covered donuts, sautéed banana donuts and cinnamon sugar ones.

You also can’t ignore the famous Ultimate Grilled Cheese that was featured on The Food Network. I’ve had it, it’s that good! I’m also a big fan of the blueberry stuffed french toast. The thick pieces of bread are grilled to perfection and stuffed with blueberries and ricotta cheese. Just YUM!

The famous Ultimate Grilled Cheese with Mac-n-Cheese and meatloaf.

Frothy milkshake, the best one I’ve ever had

Home made Twink’Eh in the top left with Uncle Betty’s famous Donut ice-cream sandwich

Outside of Uncle Betty’s Diner

All images are personal

What's on your mind?

